A day at the house with TV!

Cricket.. the word itself sends an adrenaline rush throughout my body. From leaping about to get a hold of the remote, screaming at everyone in the house on a match-day to keeping five alarms throughout the day to remind me to stay awake for a match – I’ve done it all for my favourite sport. People call me obsessed, but I am just a normal crazy fan, like every other person in our country is. And saying thus, I am reminded of an incident that happened a while ago, when I wanted to watch a promising match.

It was summer season and the cricket fever was taking everyone’s breath away. People rushing through to their offices gathered outside TV shops just to get a glimpse of their favourite cricketers. Radio antennae were raised high and the volume burst till its full potential in the local barber shop. I preferred to stay away from all this chaos to make some of my own alone at my home sweet home.

After my fourth and final alarm (so that I won’t doze off before the match started), I geared up for the match to be starting in an hour’s time, praying all the time for zero interruptions. But Lady Luck does not shine upon you all the time, does she? My cell phone started vibrating, and I picked it up with a curse.

“Hello dear”, squeaked my aunt in her flute-like voice,  “Your vacations have started, na? Why don’t you come over? Mona and Pinky would be so happy!” I grunted. Mona and Pinky were the most stupid and irritating cousins imaginable. I usually left the task of rejecting their invitation to my mum, but this was unavoidable. And she wouldn’t stop at that. She would go on hours after hours about her Monu and Pinku (I don’t know why she shortens already short names) and would not allow me to sit at peace and watch my match. I ran around searching for the remote as she continued to blabber “You know my Monu is soo sweet-” and flipped on the TV. To my utmost horror, the TV screen remained blank.

My world turned upside down. I stared with surprise at the screen, tried again and again, but to no avail. My match! The first in the season! And I would miss it?! This is a dream! The match was going to start in 30 minutes, and my aunt would stop in another few years or so. I sat down, one hand on the phone no longer stuck to my ear, and the other clutching the remote, and breathed. Something had to be done. I couldn’t think clearly because of my chattering phone companion (whose voice could be heard from afar without a loudspeaker), but I could think up just enough to know what to do next.

I balanced my breathing pattern, stuck the phone to my ear, and in the sweetest voice that I could  force out, I said, “Shall I come over to your place now, Auntie? I’m missing Monu and Pinku too much.”

One feature that I love in the new Star Sports is the informative snippet feature – there’s so much to know that I just can’t get enough of it! I love being a sports junkie  and I am rather proud of people calling me a know-it-all when it comes to sports, and that would not have been possible if not for Star Sports!

This post is a part of Cricket just got better! Activity by starsports.com in association with BlogAdda.com.

Leave a comment